The Learning and Development Department is responsible for coordination of capacity development and training of civil servants across the MDAs.  Its primary focus is equipping civil servants with relevant knowledge, skills, and attitude required to formulate and implement policies for the actualization of Government goals and objectives.

2.0       FUNCTIONS

The functions of the Department are as follows:

i. Provide strategy/plan for centrally managed training programmes’;

ii. Support MDA training delivery and monitor MDA compliance;

iii. Conduct Training needs assessment for MDAs through collaboration with DTOs and defence of Annual Training proposals;

iv. Organize centrally managed training in the following areas:

  • Induction Course;
  • Structured Mandatory Assessment-Based Training Programme (SMAT-P);
  • Leadership Enhancement and Development Programme (LEAD-P);
  • Information Communication Technology Training Programme (ICT);
  • Pre-Retirement Training Programme;

v. Planning and Preparation of Training Budgets;

vi. Conduct of Training, Monitoring and Evaluation;

vii. Provides Administrative Support for the Federal Training Centres;

viii. Conduct Verification of Certificates issued by the FTCs & NSE;

ix. Coordinates the Quarterly meetings of FTC Provosts with Permanent Secretary (CMO);

x. Conducts Academic programmes Inspection visits to Centres to ensure quality assurance;

xi. Coordinates the Accreditation of FTCs Academic programmes;

xii. Review of FTCs curriculum;

xiii. Plans and Coordinates the conduct of COMPRO I & III and COMPRO II examinations;

xiv. Coordinates the Conduct of National Secretarial Examinations (NSE);

xv. Management of Capacity Development Programmes provided by National and International Professional Organizations, such as CAPAM, AAPAM, CAFRAD, etc; &

xvi. Supervision of the Capital projects of the six (6) FTCs.


The Department is made up of three (3) Divisions and one (1) Unit, namely:

i. Training, Planning and Evaluation;

ii. Curriculum Design and Development;

iii. Development Programmes, and

iv. Projects Unit.